2018 ArabLit Story Prize

Submissions to the 2018 Story Prize are currently closed. The shortlist will be announced September 15, 2018:

The ArabLit Story Prize is an award for the best short stories, in any genre, newly translated from Arabic into English. Translators must have rights to the work, and translations must have been previously unpublished.

Stories will be judged primarily on the quality of the translated work as a thing-in-itself, although translators must also submit the Arabic original, as this must be a translation, not a loose adaptation nor a work written originally in English.

Submissions open: February 15, 2018 at 5 a.m. GMT.

Submissions close: May 15, 2018 at midnight GMT.

Submissions address: prize@arablit.org.

Submission materials must include: 1) Cover letter with the name of author, translator, story, and length. 2) The story in translation, rendered as 2000 words or fewer in English, attached as a Word document. 3) The story in the original Arabic, preferably in the same Word document. 4) Some evidence you have the rights to translate and publish this story, such as an email from the author or a scanned note.

Note: It is preferable that you do not put author or translator’s name on the attached works. In any case, names will be stripped off before they are sent to judges.

Questions about submissions can be sent to info@arablit.org or prize@arablit.org.

The shortlist of five stories will be announced on September 10, 2018.

The winner will be announced on October 10, 2018.

The judges are novelist, short-story writer, and critic Maan Abu Taleb (All the Battles, tr. Robin Moger); award-winning translator Thoraya El Rayyes (co-winner of 2014 University of Arkansas Arabic Translation Award for her translation of The Perception of Meaning); novelist and commentator Ruqaya Izzidien (The Watermelon Boys, forthcoming Hoopoe Fiction).

The prize: $50 to each shortlisted story, an additional $200 to the winner. Shortlisted stories will have the opportunity to be published on the ArabLit website as well as a future anthology.

Winnings will be split between author and translator.

Thanks to everyone who has made this happen: gh, Sophia Brown, Iain McCoy, Sonali Pahwa, Niamh McBurney, Andy Smart, Mark Marroquin, Ben Koerber, Christopher Stone, Erin Twohig, Zora O’Neill, Nadine, Andrew Leber, Shan Chakraborty, Sherine Elbanhawy, Shawkat Toorawa, Rachel Daum, Betty Rosen, Johanna Sellman, Daniel Hahn, Maan Abu Taleb, Perween Richards, Leri Price, Judith Naeff, Dean Kloker, Jonathan Wright, Norbert Hirschhorn, Levi Thompson, Tami Chapnik, Kevin Riordan, Joy Garnett, Susan Kang, Hilary Plum, Alexander, Samah Selim, Joseph Farag, Susan Harris, Siwar Masannat, Hosam, Dima Ayoub, Elliott Colla, Guy Gunaratne, Rebekah Maggor, Alex Zucker, Yasmine Seale, M Litvin, Eva Martín, Scott A Wahl, and Thoraya El Rayyes.