7 Finalists for the 2019 Prix de la Littérature Arabe

The seven finalists for the Prix de la Littérature Arabe — a Francophone award that celebrates books written by Arabs in French or translated from Arabic to French — was announced today:

The finalists include two novels translated from Arabic:

Winning authors receive a 10,000 euro prize.

As in the past, the jury is set to meet this fall, led by judging chair Pierre Leroy. The prize will be presented at the Institut Arabe on November 6, 2019.

Since its creation in 2013, Prix de la Littérature Arabe has gone to Jabbour Douaihy (2013), Mohamed al-Fakharany (2014), Mohammed Hasan Alwan (2015), Inaam Kachachi (2016), and Sinan Antoon (2017) for his novel The Pomegranate Alone, which was translated into English as The Corpse Washer. Last year’s prize went to Omar Robert Hamilton (2018) for his novel The City Always Wins, translated by Sarah Gurcel as La Ville gagne toujours.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s