This award is presented annually on December 11, Mahfouz’s birthday. The winning novel is translated and published by AUC Press.

More about the Mahfouz medal, now and in the future, from prize chair Dr. Samia Mehrez.


2012: Ezzat El Kamhawi’s House of al-Deeb
2011:The revolutionary creativity of the Egyptian people
2010: Miral al-Tahawy, Brooklyn Heights 
2009: Khalil Sweileh, The Scribe of Love
2008: Hamdi Abu Golayyel, A Dog with No Tail
2007: Amina Zaydan, Red Wine
2006: Sahar Khalifeh, The Image, the Icon, and the Covenant
2005: Yusuf Abu Rayya, Wedding Night
2004: Alia Mamdouh, The Loved Ones
2003: Khairy Shalaby, The Lodging House
2002: Bensalem Himmich, The Polymath
2001: Somaya Ramadan, Leaves of Narcissus
2000: Hoda Barakat, The Tiller of Waters
1999: Edwar al-Kharrat, Rama and the Dragon
1998: Ahlam Mosteghanemi, Memory in the Flesh
1997: Mourid Barghouti, I Saw Ramallah; and Yusuf Idris, City of Love and Ashes
1996: Ibrahim Abdel Meguid, The Other Place; and Latifa al-Zayyat, The Open Door

Leave a Reply