Sunday Submissions: The PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation

Nominations close August 15 for the PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation:

From PEN America’s website:

The PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation is given every three years to a translator whose career has demonstrated a commitment to excellence through the body of their work. The winner is selected by the PEN America Translation Committee.

The award was initiated by funds donated by the late Bernard Malamud and by Gay Talese, and has received additional support from the family and friends of Ralph Manheim. It was named in honor of Ralph Manheim, the prolific and widely acclaimed English translator. Manheim is known for his translation of major German and French works, including those by Bertolt Brecht, Sigmund Freud, Gunther Grass, and Marcel Proust. Click to view past recipients of the PEN/Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation »

Nominations will only be accepted via jotform.

Note that you must be a PEN member to nominate a translator for the prize. 


Categories: submissions, translation

1 reply

%d bloggers like this: