Sunday Submissions: EBRD Literature Prize 2019

Submissions are open for the 2019 European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) Literature Prize:

The prize will be awarded to the year’s “best work of literary fiction translated into English and originally written in any language” from one of the 38 countries where the EBRD operates, and published by a UK publisher.

Arab countries where the EBRD operates include: Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia, and Palestine. The submission deadline is 1 November 2018.

The first prize, worth €20,000, will be equally divided between the winning author and translator. Two runners-up and their translators will receive a prize of €1,000 each.

The chair of judges is broadcaster and journalist Rosie Goldsmith:

Last year, acclaimed Lebanese novelist Alawiya Sobh’s Maryam: Keeper of Stories, translated by Nirvana Tanoukhi and published by Seagull Books, made the inaugural EBRD Literature Prize shortlist.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s