Books are selected for the awards on the basis of “outstanding literary quality, the strength of the publishing project, and their contribution to UK bibliodiversity.”Continue Reading

Seven writers on the list have been recognized by the prize in past editions: Ahmad Abdulatif, Najwa Binshatwan, Lina Huyan Alhassan, Aisha Ibrahim, Nasser Iraq, Azher Jirjis, and Miral al-Tahawy. Organizers also remarked on the number of women authors longlisted for this year’s prize — eight — the most women novelists ever to appear on an IPAF longlist.Continue Reading